The NFL, Greed, and Capitalism’s Brutal Inhumanity.

What I witnessed Monday night is going to stay with me for a long, long time.

Lauren Elizabeth
5 min readJan 3, 2023
Photo by Adrian Curiel on Unsplash

I absolutely love football.

It reminds me of my Grandpa, who passed away in July of 2019, and watching it with him as a kid. It’s synonymous with my favorite season, fall. With pizza and chilly afternoons, too. But after what I watched on Monday night, January 2nd…I don’t know how the NFL is ever viewed the same. Ever.

Bills versus Bengals. It was going to be the game of the year. I love the Bills. I could not wait. I’ve got such a soft spot for Josh Allen, the one-of-a-kind leader that he is, and what he and this team mean to the city of Buffalo is incredibly special. But the stakes of the game and its playoff implications? That all went out the window with about six minutes left to go in the first quarter.

Bills safety Damar Hamlin tackled Bengals receiver Tee Higgins in what looked like a pretty routine play, stood up, and collapsed immediately afterwards. All it took was the reactions from the players to know that something was very wrong as they watched medical staff from both teams move with a sense of urgency that was scary in it of itself. The camera cut to Josh Allen, so visibly shaken that he looked like he was going to vomit. It cut to Stefon…

--

--

Lauren Elizabeth

Lauren is a writer & leftist with analysis on topics related to politics & policy. She can be reached at LaurenMartinchek@gmail.com or Twitter @xlauren_mx