Suddenly Biden’s Changing His Tune About 2024.

Suddenly, he might not be running for re-election.

Lauren Elizabeth
3 min readSep 19, 2022
Joe Biden, via Andrew Harnik/AP Photo

With the midterms approaching, it should go without saying that elected officials are already eying the election of 2024. Of course, with Trump all but inevitably running and likely securing the nomination for the GOP, those of us who admittedly enjoy the electoral aspect of politics are wondering who he will be running against. For a long time, another Biden vs. Trump rematch seemed inevitable, especially when the President had repeatedly expressed his intentions to run again.

Now, Biden has changed his tune.

CBS News reports:

“President Biden told 60 Minutes last Thursday that while he intends to run for re-election in 2024, the decision is still up in the air.

“Sir, are you committed to running again, or are there certain conditions that have to be right?” Pelley asked.

“Look, if I were to say to you, I’m running again, all of a sudden, a whole range of things come into play that I have — requirements I have to change and move and do,” Mr. Biden said. “In terms of election laws. and it’s much too early to make that kind of decision. I’m a great respecter of fate. And so, what I’m doing is I’m doing my job. I’m gonna do that job. And within the…

--

--

Lauren Elizabeth

Lauren is a writer & leftist with analysis on topics related to politics & policy. She can be reached at LaurenMartinchek@gmail.com or Twitter @xlauren_mx