President Joe Biden Has Officially Dropped Out of the Race.

We all saw it coming, but it’s surreal just the same.

Lauren Elizabeth
3 min readJul 22, 2024
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

Well, late last week it was reported that Biden could be dropping out as soon as Sunday, and Nancy Pelosi certainly knows how to get what she wants doesn’t she?

Joe Biden has officially dropped out of the Presidential race, will no longer seek reelection, and has put his support fully behind Vice President Kamala Harris.

Kevin Breuninger and Dan Mangan with CNBC write:

“President Joe Biden on Sunday dropped out of the 2024 presidential race and endorsed Vice President Kamala Harris as the Democratic Party’s nominee, bowing to weeks of growing pressure by his own party members to quit his re-election bid against former President Donald Trump.

“It has been the greatest honor of my life to serve as your President,” Biden wrote in a post on the social media site X.

“And while it has been my intention to seek reelection, I believe it is in the best interest of my party and the country for me to stand down and to focus solely on fulfilling my duties as President for the remainder of my term,” Biden wrote…”

It all just felt so…inevitable didn’t it? I mean, the announcement came just a day or two after he was…

--

--

Lauren Elizabeth

Lauren is a writer & leftist with analysis on topics related to politics & policy. She can be reached at LaurenMartinchek@gmail.com or Twitter @xlauren_mx