Jeff Bezos Made Some Revealing Comments After His Trip into Space.

We shouldn’t be excited about billionaires and their joy rides.

Lauren Elizabeth
3 min readJul 21, 2021
AP Photo/Tony Gutierrez

Well, Jeff Bezos finally made it to space.

The richest man on earth fulfilled his dream, and took a joy ride on a spacecraft owned and operated by his company Blue Origin. Frankly, I thought a lot of my frustration about billionaires and their space pet projects was released earlier this month after Virgin Group’s founder Richard Branson made it to space. I didn’t think I even had the energy to address Bezos’ trip. That is, of course, until I happened to stumble upon the comments he made afterwards.

In his interview following his ten minute flight, Bezos said:

“I also wanna thank every Amazon employee and every Amazon customer. Cuz, you guys paid for all this. So seriously, for every Amazon customer out there and every Amazon employee, thank you from the bottom of my heart.”

Oh they paid for it all right.

We all did.

We’re living in the midst of a pandemic that cost hundreds of thousands of lives and millions of jobs in the U.S…

--

--

Lauren Elizabeth

Lauren is a writer & leftist with analysis on topics related to politics & policy. She can be reached at LaurenMartinchek@gmail.com or Twitter @xlauren_mx