Biden’s Defense of His Decision to Withdraw From Afghanistan Was Excellent.

Of course, conservatives and the media are still reeling.

Lauren Elizabeth
3 min readSep 1, 2021
Photograph: Elizabeth Frantz/Reuters

It’s certainly no secret that I’m not exactly a fan of Joe Biden, and I’m not one to deliver heaps of undeserving praise to a man who has operated as though even he himself knows he is the last dying breath of the age of neoliberalism. The list of issues I have with his policy decisions and the way he has used or especially failed to use his power as the President of the United States sometimes feels endless, whether it be his refusal to use his education department to end the student debt crisis, or failure to even fight for the passage of a $15 minimum wage. That said, as a matter of principle I am more than happy to give credit where credit is due, and overall Biden definitely earned it in regards to his speech about the United States’ withdrawal from Afghanistan.

In a segment of the speech that really caught my attention, the President said:

“I made a commitment to the American people that I would end this war. Today, I honored that commitment. It was time to be honest with the American people again. We no longer had a clear purpose in an open ended mission in Afghanistan. After 20 years of war in Afghanistan I refuse to send another generation of American sons and…

--

--

Lauren Elizabeth

Lauren is a writer & leftist with analysis on topics related to politics & policy. She can be reached at LaurenMartinchek@gmail.com or Twitter @xlauren_mx